5 Days to go: ‘Already a Winner’

April 27, 2010 at 4:39 pm 1 comment

Days till race: 5
Miles: 4 miles (will complete when I get off from work)
Feeling: Turning anxiety into optimism

So word is spreading that this little race o’ mine is rapidly approaching. My wonderful coworkers who have been supportive since Day 1 have been checking in on me and my progress.  The question I overwhelmingly get?

“Are you ready?”

For the last few weeks, I’ve winced and given my stock, self-depreciating answer: “I’ll finish. It won’t be pretty, but I’ll finish.”

That’s definitely not the way to look at this.

Mostly because the answer makes me feel more and more anxious each time I say it, each time I think about the race, each time I even consider my sanity for embarking on this journey.

I love that when I said it to Pam, she immediately corrected me.

“You’re already a winner,” she said. Then pointed out that I’d raised a ton of money (with the help of generous folks like you) for a great cause. And I’ve come really far since I began this journey.

I thanked her and initially downplayed the encouragement. But you know what, she’s right.

And with at least one 13-mile practice run under my belt, I know that physically, I can do this. The rest of this is all mental.

So here are a list of things that I’m thankful for/happy about/proud of:

  • I’ve raised $2, 030 for leukemia and lymphoma research
  • The half marathon Team in Training runners/walkers have raised more than $56,000 (I don’t have the exact figure) for blood cancer research
  • That money goes to support people dealing with really horrible diseases and to help find a cure
  • The LLS and TnT staff have been super supportive, helpful and great through this whole process (hi, guys!)
  • I’ve had some great workout partners and tons of encouragement from people all across the country
  • I’ve made some new friends thanks to my training
  • I can walk up multiple flights of stairs without being winded
  • My legs, core and even my arms feel stronger than they ever have
  • I’ve gotten into the habit of exercising, so it will be easier to keep up with once the race is finished
  • I’m motivated to continue working out to stay as healthy as possible
  • Finishing this race will be a major accomplishment
  • I’ll have friends and family cheering me on!

From here on out, only positive thinking. I’m going to have a great race day on Sunday.

I’m already a winner.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Six Days to Go Three Days to Go

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Wes Cotter  |  April 29, 2010 at 1:02 pm

    You are going to have a really great race. Keep telling yourself that you are an unstoppable force and you will be. Long races are tough but rewarding. There is nothing that can stop you and every step brings you closer to the finish line. Now go Tear it UP!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Sponsor My Run!

Click here to Donate!

Talia Training

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Past Workouts


