Six Days to Go

April 26, 2010 at 8:04 pm 1 comment

Days till race: 6
Miles: 13 miles (when I ran Sunday)
Time: 4 hours
Feeling: Determined

I knew I had to do it.

I’ve been off and on with my training in the last month but with just a few weeks to go before my half marathon, I knew I needed to get serious. Over the past few weeks, I’ve been trying to run as consistently as I could. I did eight miles on Friday, with the plan to do 10 on Saturday and have that be the longest I would run.

But then I didn’t run Saturday. So I knew I had to run Sunday. The rest of my team got up at 8 a.m. to do their run. But I wasn’t prepared to do that.

After church (and after doing some shopping), I motivated myself to head over to the gym at work and do at least 10 miles.

If I could do 10, I could do 13.

I started running at 7:30 p.m. Four hours, 3 bathroom breaks, 1 bottle of Gatorade and 1/2 a bottle of water later, I’d run 13. 1 miles. It wasn’t easy.

The first three miles, oddly enough, were bad. I felt like stopping immediately. But by mile four, things turned around. I hit  a stride and felt okay with the run. When I made it to mile 6, I told myself I was almost half done. At 8 miles, my mantra was “two more miles to 10.”

By 10 miles, it was 10:45 p.m. or so. I wanted to stop. But I figured I’d come this far. And I’d have to do it in a week. So I kept running. “Breaking Bad” kept me company.

I crossed my finish line around 11:30 p.m. and – no lie – it was pretty emotional. I didn’t cry, but I was just astonished that I’d done it and the progress I’d made. I cooled down, stretched, then went home and demolished a turkey sandwich and a glass of milk.

This morning, I woke up with my legs a little achy. My calves were tight. My hips felt a little off. But I wasn’t dead. I could walk. Stairs were a bit of a challenge, but I could walk.

Major improvement.

I had a pow wow with Pam at work about yoga poses to help me loosen up my muscles (she’s a go-hard — she got on the floor to show me a move, in some very cute stilettos!).

This afternoon, I picked up my race singlet (eek!) and my race day information from Team in Training. Lots of good stuff in there. And lots I still need to do to prepare for this race.

First order of business: write my name on my singlet.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Surprise! You’re a runner! 5 Days to go: ‘Already a Winner’

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Sponsor My Run!

Click here to Donate!

Talia Training

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Past Workouts


