Day 57: I’m focused, man

April 1, 2010 at 5:06 pm 1 comment

Day: 57
Miles: 4.83 miles
Time: 1 hour 5 minutes
Feeling:

Confession time.

After the St. Pat’s race, I checked out. I wasn’t running. I wasn’t working out. I was just chilling. No lie, it was great. But I felt guilty. And I knew that the longer I waited to get back on the training wagon, the harder it would be.

I ran exactly once last week.

This week, I did better. But not fantasically so.

I eased back into the workouts with first a 3 mile run on the treadmill and then the nearly 5 miler the next day. I haven’t been able to run outside because it’s been a little drizzly here in Rhode Island. I’m really looking forward to getting out there this weekend.

So the plan — Because I really do have exactly one month until this whole shindig goes down — is this:

  1. Run Friday. It doesn’t matter how long, or how far, but run.
  2. On Friday, go to Rhode Runner and get some supplies for my fuel belt. I bought the fanny pack last year so I could run with my camera and other essentials in my first 5k. From what I’ve been reading, I’ll need to carry my own fuel and snacks to keep me going during this race. Might as well practice my fueling strategy now.
  3. Run for two hours on Saturday. At my pace, my race will be at least this long. It’s supposed to be nice, so I figure now is as good a time as any to get a REAL long run in.
  4. That long run? Run it at 8 a.m. — yeah. this is a hard one. My race is in the morning and I normally do my running at night. I’ll try to incorporate more morning runs as I get closer, so that I’ll be used to the heat and humidity.

I’m a few weeks behind in my training schedule, but after running nearly 5 miles the other day, I’m somewhat confident that I can actually do this. I didn’t feel like dying afterward, which is always a plus. Granted, I would need to run an additional 8 miles or so on race day, but that I could get through nearly 5 with minimal problem is progress.

And let it be known: I have no shame in walking.

My goal is to finish the race the best I can. If I need to walk for a bit to catch my breath, I’ll do it. But the goal is to run as much of it as I can.

Gotta hunker down and really hammer out all of the kinks and logistics of this all or else this is going to be a nasty, nasty race.

In other news, I’m REALLLLLLY close to raising my fundraising goal of $1,500. As of 6 p.m. on April 1, 2010, we have raised $1,225 for blood cancer research. AND I know some checks are in the mail to be credited to my account so I’m feeling pretty good about whether I’ll reach goal.

That said, you can still do your part! Click here to donate!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

I’m fully committed The real Superstars

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Sponsor My Run!

Click here to Donate!

Talia Training

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Past Workouts


