Day 42 — My shins are screaming

March 17, 2010 at 8:30 pm 1 comment

Day: 42
Miles: Almost 4 miles
Time: No idea
Feeling: Like I had to listen to my body

I ran 1.15 miles before I literally could not go any further.

My left shin was hurting seriously. Something it’s been doing a lot more often as of late. As I limped off the treadmill, I looked around for help.

Thankfully, our resident running guru, Ed, was in the gym with me. I asked him what stretches to do to stop the pain. He told me to put my toe on the ground and push my foot forward. I did that, and other stretches, for the next 10 minutes or so.

A little gunshy, I moved to the elliptical. I read somewhere that the elliptical is good for people with injuries who want to keep up with their training. So I set it to hill and did another 1.85 miles on that.

I went back to the treadmill and did a little short of a mile there. I was tired and the running was spotty, so I stopped short.

So after the workout, I tried this method to recover from long runs from cool running.

  1. Chow — Within 15 minutes of training, drink liquid fruit juice, carb drinks, bagels, bananas or other high carb foods.
  2. Chug –Drink one quart of fluid for every half-hour of running.
  3. Chill — Cold water constricts blood vessels and muscle tissue and prevents blood from pooling in your legs. A cold shower directed at the legs or ice massage with an ice pack or ice cup will do the trick.

Only I didn’t have anything to eat and I drank water. BUT, I did the chill part. As soon as I finished stretching, I went upstairs to the locker room, rolled up my pant legs and turned the handicapped shower on cold. I used the shower head to spray cold water on my shins while I sipped water and finished listening to my “On Point” podcast. (Tom Ashbrook is my journalism crush. *Swoon*)

After 10 minutes, I dried off with paper towels and headed to the grocery store. I gotta say, my legs never felt better. This may need to be a regular thing after my runs.

Tuesday was my day off from training. And I picked up my DVD/VCR player from my BF, so I’ll be doing some cross training/yoga this weekend (in addition to the 5k St. Pat’s Race I’m running on Saturday). It’s getting warmer, so the goal is to do my long run on Wednesday.

I’m going to aim for 6 to 9 miles. Unsure yet how far I’ll decide to go. But it’ll be nice to finally be outside.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Everyone likes free stuff! Day 44 – I may regret saying this, but…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. G.D.  |  March 17, 2010 at 8:46 pm

    icing/chilling is really annoying, but it’s incredibly effective. be careful with it, tho: you don’t want to ice an area for too long lest you get frostbite. (10 mins, tops.)

    thanks for the link. my 10-mile days are always attended by a mild headache that usually passes after an hour or so. i don’t drink at all during the run, and i’m sure i don’t drink enough after. i’ll need to be more diligent abt that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Sponsor My Run!

Click here to Donate!

Talia Training

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Tweeting TrainingTalia

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Past Workouts


