Day 41 – It’s Getting ‘Hot in Herre’

March 16, 2010 at 11:11 pm 3 comments

Day: 41
Miles: 2.7 miles
Time: Like 47 minutes
Feeling: Is it just me or is it hot in here?

Had it not been for G.D. I would have been brunching Sunday afternoon rather than attempting to stay on schedule with my training.

French toast? No, thank you. I’ll take this treadmill over here.

Seriously, I met up with G.D. at his Park Slope gym to get in a quick workout before I hit the road back to Rhode Island. After making it to the gym 40 minutes after I was supposed to (thanks for nothing, Google maps), I filled out my visitors form and headed upstairs to meet G.D., who was already warming up.

I know my stretches are not that serious, so I say I can do them at the machine so we can get to work. I do my normal stretches — calf, quad, arms — find a This American Life podcast to listen to and press speed up on the treadmill.

The bank of treadmills looks out onto Flatbush Avenue. You can’t see it from this pic, but there was a taco place that was taunting me the entire time. Can I trade my treadmill for an empanada please?

Beyond the Spanishy goodness calling my name from across the street, the gym was hot. Like, so hot that after 1/2  a mile, I had sweat dripping down my forehead. I mean, I’m not in perfect shape, but I ain’t sweating after 1/2 a mile either. I chalk it up to the sauna in the locker room and the flood of people getting their Sabbath workout in.

I peek at the treadmill to see how G.D. is doing. He’s going twice as fast as me. I keep my pride in check and stay at my 4.6 mph pace. I know I can’t hang going as fast as he’s going. So I focus on the empanadas across the street.

Mmmmm. Beef.

The pain creeps up in my left leg quickly. I try to ignore it,  thinking that it will get better. I slow down a bit, but keep moving. I want to make it at least to the mile marker. But after a while, I can’t take it anymore.

I look over at G.D. He’s slowed down, too. And is stretching his leg.

Don’t know whether it was the hour, our injuries or the heat, but we say later to the treadmills and opt for a quick ab workout instead. I think he called them leg ladders — bend one leg, keep other in air, and act like you’re climbing your leg to pull you up — those were cool. The rest of the stuff, not so much. I think my abs are still a little tender from it.

Afterward, I offer him a ride home since I’d driven and he needed to get to work soon.  Turns out we both don’t want to be runners. Just for the record, he’s MUCH more of a runner than I am. Just saying. Not because we don’t like running or don’t want to be fit, but because, well, there’s an elitist stigma that comes with being a runner. And who wants a stigma following you around on a 6 mile run? I know I sure don’t.

We both grew up in urban cities (me: Flint, him: Philly) and we talked about the barriers to fitness in our communities. In his old Brooklyn neighborhood, he’d probably be laughed out of the store if he asked for organic veggies. Neither of us would probably take a 3 mile run around our neighborhoods back home. We’re not crazy. I mentioned that’s why after school sports, if you can find a way to participate in them, are so important for city kids.  I tell him I used to run on my middle school track team, if you could call it running: I ran the 100 meter dash in 14 seconds. (For perspective, that’s so long that during one meet, I went to get my time and they said they’d stopped counting.)

I didn’t exercise beyond gym class in high school and then gained 15-20 pounds in college. To which G.D. responded that he didn’t believe me because: “You’re probably the smallest human being I’ve ever seen.” (or something of the sort.)

All I could think of is a leprechaun-sized version of me doing a jig in my hand. Hilarious.

Before I dropped him off at his house, I made him take a picture with me for the blog.

Thanks for keeping me on track with training, buddy.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Coming down the pike Everyone likes free stuff!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. G.D.  |  March 17, 2010 at 3:25 am

    lol. a leprechaun you in your hand?

    Reply
  • 2. taliabuford  |  March 17, 2010 at 4:14 pm

    That’s why I was laughing so hysterically. I said Mini-me initially, but what I saw in my head was a little sprite version of me. Dancing.

    Reply
  • 3. ‘Already a Winner’ « Talia in Training  |  April 27, 2010 at 4:40 pm

    […] I’ve made some new friends thanks to my training […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Sponsor My Run!

Click here to Donate!

Talia Training

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Tweeting TrainingTalia

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Past Workouts


