Day 39 – Bikram, running and vacations

March 12, 2010 at 2:37 pm 2 comments

Here’s a heads up: I didn’t run today and don’t plan on running until Sunday at the very latest.

I’m going to visit my sister in  NYC and me, being the slacker I am, I didn’t get up early enough to get my miles in this morning. I think I may have convinced her — or at least planted the seed — to do Bikram yoga tomorrow in Brooklyn.

You don’t know what Bikram yoga is? Here’s what the site says:

Bikram yoga is a complete system of wellness, restoration and rejuvenation. Bringing Bikram yoga into your life cleanses the body and calms the mind. The studio is HOT (over 100 degrees) to facilitate deeper stretching, prevent injury, relieve stress and tension and to detoxify the body. Bikram yoga was designed to systematically stimulate and restore health to every muscle, joint and organ of the body. Participants are guided through a series of 26 postures, each increasing in physical challenge. Participants of all ages notice an increase in energy, strength, balance, flexibility and mental focus. The body is flushed of toxins, leaving a deep sense of relaxation and well-being.

The sessions are 90 minutes long and people I know who have done it say it is intense and stinky. So I’m excited about it. She didn’t confirm yet, so I’m holding off the victory dance for now. But I did pack my yoga mat and clothes (I may pick up some shorts on the way down) and I’m going to drink tons of water on the trip up, just in case we decide to do it. From what I’ve heard, Bikram is a huge workout, so I figure that should give me a pass if I don’t get to run tomorrow.

Plus, it’s supposed to rain this weekend and I don’t like being outside in the rain. So I need an alternative to running outside.

So the plan is to do that Saturday, and then either run/do the gym on Sunday, or at least do a fitness tape (maybe yoga again) after I get back in town from NYC. Then I start next week full throttle. Actually, I think what I do on Sunday will dictate whether I do my long run on Monday or Tuesday. I may need Monday to get back acclimated and then use Tuesday as my long day. I’ll keep you guys posted.

Oh! And if I do bikram, I’ll see if I can take some pictures to post as well.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Day 37 – Miss me on the treadmill. Thanks. Coming down the pike

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. G.D.  |  March 12, 2010 at 3:32 pm

    You’re gonna be right down the street!

    oh, man. i wish we should go running in the park!

    Reply
  • 2. taliabuford  |  March 12, 2010 at 3:41 pm

    @G.D. — I sent you a Tweet. We might be able to work something out. I’ll bring my running shoes just in case we connect.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Sponsor My Run!

Click here to Donate!

Talia Training

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Past Workouts


