Day 37 – Miss me on the treadmill. Thanks.

March 10, 2010 at 10:36 pm 2 comments

Day: 37
Miles: 3.17 miles
Time: 47 minutes, 47 seconds
Feeling: Over the treadmill

Yeah. I think this settles it.

I’m over the treadmill. Officially.

I had a great run on Monday and took Tuesday off as dictated by our schedule. The sun went down before I could get my run in, so I decided to go downstairs and hit the treadmill.

Almost immediately I felt more sluggish, my knees and shins hurt more and I just felt like stopping. That wasn’t there when I ran on Monday? So I blame the treadmill. Nevermind the fact that I took yesterday off. It’s still the treadmill’s fault.

So here’s my resolution: if at all possible, run outside. Even if it’s just for half my route, until it gets dark, or starts raining or whatever. Because this treadmill, I believe, is for the birds.

It kind of sucks because I have visions in my head of doing lots of miles on the treadmill and showing my victory with a photo of the digital display. But I just don’t think it’s for me. Or maybe it’s not for me right now.

When I was outside, I felt good. I wanted to keep running. I didn’t feel that on the treadmill. At least not today.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Day 35 — Today was a good day (cue the g-funk) Day 39 – Bikram, running and vacations

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jameil  |  March 10, 2010 at 10:51 pm

    Treadmills make me feel like a rat. I don’t get that on ellipticals but treadmills? Blech.

    Reply
  • 2. G.D.  |  March 11, 2010 at 9:21 pm

    running on a treadmill takes concentration that running outdoors, which is harder, does not. i’ve been doing a long treadmill run once a week for months, and i have to give myself minute-to-minute goals (the next 60 seconds at 7.5, the next 60 at 8.0, etc.) or else I’d go crazy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Sponsor My Run!

Click here to Donate!

Talia Training

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Past Workouts


