This is hard.

March 4, 2010 at 9:17 pm 2 comments

Day: 31
Miles: 2
Time: See post.
Feeling: Like crying

I just gave up.

I’m upstairs in the newsroom typing this, on the off chance that I can guilt myself back downstairs. Though I know that’s a minuscule not a possibility.

I ran for 2 miles today. By my schedule, I should have done five today.

Sad part, I forgot to shut off my watch, so it’s still going as I type this.

32.30

32.33

32.36

And I got off the machine, cleaned it, grabbed my bag and walked all the way upstairs in that time. Plus ran. That means I didn’t even run for 30 minutes. That’s pretty pathetic.

I signed on to Facebook and saw so much wonderful encouragement, like this one from my buddy, Charlie, commenting on how I was afraid of the course:

A little fear is a good thing… Keeps you motivated. Enjoy the journey, sounds like it’s going great so far!

That’sĀ  a great thing to read when you realize you literally just gave up in the middle of your training. And I understand what he’s saying. A little fear is good. But my fear doesn’t seem little to me. It seems paralyzing. And it definitely was big enough to make me give up today.

I’m not going downstairs again tonight. I’m going home. Maybe order a pizza. And go to bed. I’m tired and hungry and this is really hard.

I guess I’ll try again tomorrow.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

I might be crazy… Day 32 — Everybody needs a support system

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jameil  |  March 5, 2010 at 12:37 am

    IT’S OKAY!! It really is. The fact that you can get through two miles and 3 seems like nothing is iMPRESSIVE! I’m proud of you and I know you can do this! Work it out girly! šŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 2. Meghan Downing  |  March 5, 2010 at 9:12 am

    Talia,

    A few tears are expected and you’re not giving up~ Listening to your body is important, too! Everyone has those down days, as a matter of fact I think I mentioned a few of my own ‘cry fests’ when I was training for the cycle ride last year.

    Get back out there this weekend, best part is the weather looks terrific for some new miles!

    Keep up the great work šŸ™‚
    Meghan

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Sponsor My Run!

Click here to Donate!

Talia Training

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Past Workouts


