Day 28: Making up for lost time

March 2, 2010 at 7:54 pm Leave a comment

Day: 26
Miles: 3
Time: 37:40 minutes

Day: 28
Miles: 6
Time: 1 hour, 13 minutes, 18 seconds*

The day after my show, I knew I needed to get back on the good foot with my running. It had been two days. Any longer and I would feel like I was back at square one.

I got up Saturday morning afternoon and went to Rhode Runner, first.  I told you about my toes? I stopped at the specialty store to get some special running socks, meant to cut down on rubbing and irritation. I popped in, got two pair and headed in to the gym.

I won’t bore you with a blow by blow mostly because I don’t remember everything that happened but I did take notes on what I did! Here was my workout on Saturday:

1 mile – 12:53 minutes
Pull Up Machine (unknown number of reps)
1 mile – 12:20 minutes (right here, I got geeked because I was shaving time off!)
Walk – .10 mile
Stretch – calves, Achilles, quads
1 mile – 12:27 minutes (with a short walk break in the middle)

It may not seem like a lot, but I was proud of it. I think keeping track of my individual mile totals has made me realize that I need to at least run 12 minute miles consistently. I’d like to get down to 10 minute miles, but I feel that a 12 minute mile is my bare minimum — it should take me longer than that at all.

I missed my 6 mile group run on Sunday. I was sleepy. And 8 a.m. is early. So I told myself I’d just run later. But then I went to the movies. So that didn’t happen.

Here was my solution: In the March schedule, this week, we have two days off, Tuesday and Friday. Since I didn’t run Sunday, I just decided I’d run the rest of the week and only take Friday off.

So Monday was my long run.

As you can see, I completed it. And actually, it wasn’t all that bad. I was sweating. Which, I know it will sound stupid, but that’s the one part of running I’m just not used to yet. I don’t like to sweat and most of my other workouts, I only begin to glisten. I never had sweat dripping down my face until I started to run. It’s a good thing. I know it means I’m working. It just is still kinda weird. And funky. But whatever.

The goal in yesterday’s run was to run the miles on a 1.0 incline without stopping, though I allowed myself to stop at the mile markers. And I did it. I’m going to keep doing the incline to help me with the transition to outdoor running.

Oh, about the asterisk. I think I was somewhere in mile 4 and I had to stop and use the bathroom. So I come back to the machine and start running and I forgot to press start on my stopwatch. By the time I realized it, I was almost done, but I pressed it anyway. So I’m not exactly sure how long it took me, but I’m claiming that time.

Alright, off to the gym to knock out *looks at the schedule* my 3 miles. Not to sound cocky, but it feels REALLY good to look at the schedule and say, ‘oh, I only have to do 3 miles today’ and actually be happy about it. A month ago, 3 miles was torture. Now, it’s a light day. Still a sweaty light day, but a light day nonetheless. Very good feeling, indeed.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Don’t be disappointed Famous Last Words

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Sponsor My Run!

Click here to Donate!

Talia Training

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Past Workouts


