Day 21 — Running Buddies

February 23, 2010 at 11:42 am 1 comment

Day: 21
Miles: 3
Time: 39 minutes
Feeling: Like maybe I can do this

I think I may be the newest supporter of workout buddies.

When I came into the gym last night, Alisha was on the elliptical. So I hopped on next to her. We chatted while I did the cross-training program for about 15 minutes. Shortly after, Cynthia came in and hopped on one of the treadmills. She was on my favorite machine, so I used the opportunity to do some upper body weight training.

I eventually stopped procrastinating and stepped onto the treadmill next to Cynthia. I pushed the speed button up until it seemed, to me at least, that I was matching Cynthia’s pace. I figured if we were “running together” we might as well run together, yes?

She was running at a pretty good clip. Maybe 4.9 to 4.5 on a treadmill. So we were moving. By the time I began working out, she probably already had about a mile and a half in. I had three to go.

I stopped after my first mile (as usual) and stretched. But when I got around to mile two, I was about to stop again when Cynthia said “no, keep going!”

I slowed to a walk anyway. Well, for about 10 to 15 seconds at least. I sipped some water, and then pushed my speed back up to match  Cynthia. She told me she was trying to run a certain distance non-stop. And really, I didn’t want her to have to do it alone (even though I’d already stopped once).

So I told her I’d definitely stay with her until her mile marker. She turned the television to the Olympics for inspiration. We talked a little, but for the most part, the only sound between us was that of our sneakers hitting the treadmill. And somehow, that was enough.

At some point, Cynthia hit her goal. But then, she kept running with me.  And I kept running with her.She even enlisted Alisha to cheer us on while we finished up. (Kudos to Alisha for breaking out the cheerleader moves for us.)

I only had about half a mile to go when Cynthia took a walk break.  (Oh, and shout out to Cynthia for running non-stop longer than she said she’d run in a long time!)

We talked about race tips and she kept cheering me on as she stretched. And by then, Alisha was on the machine next to me and we were all talking about randomness and laughing.

That half a mile flew by.

As I cooled down, Alisha mentioned something that sounded awfully familiar. She said she knows that her body can always do more than she thinks it can. So when she feels like stopping, she just pushes and tells herself, one more mile. (I think she’s been talking to Ben.)

I was pretty proud of what my body did last night. I ran two miles without stopping. Granted, they were on a treadmill, but I still did it. And I know that without Cynthia and Alisha there, I would have stopped and walked when my body was more than capable of continuing.

It was really cool, actually. We were all sitting in front of the machines, stretching, resting and hydrating and we just started talking. About exercising. About the Olympics (they really were an inspiration). About all kinds of randomness. And it was fun. A lot more fun than when I drag myself into the gym at 8 a.m., or 9 p.m. to miss the work crowds.

“We have to do this again,” Cynthia said as she packed her bags and headed out the door.

I’m down. How’s next Monday look?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Day 20 – “…Next week, you GET to do 6!” Day 23 — I need to run faster

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Tiffany H.  |  February 23, 2010 at 12:21 pm

    I love reading your blog! Funny, enlightening, and very inspiring. Sometimes I feel as though I’m right there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Sponsor My Run!

Click here to Donate!

Talia Training

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Past Workouts


