Day 16 — Stretch it Out

February 18, 2010 at 9:46 pm 1 comment

I bet you’re wondering about my knees.

So, I went to the stretching seminar at Foundation Performance Sports Medicine in Pawtucket with the rest of the Team in Training crew. After an hour and a half of practicing stretching and strength training exercises, I was able to ask Mike, the speaker, about my knee problem.

Good news: My muscles may just be tight.

Bad news: They might not be and it could be something worse.

He pointed out to our nifty handout and showed me which stretches I should incorporate in order to, hopefully, fix the problem.

The first is the IT band stretch. (Forgive the picture, it was the only one I could find on the Internet. It kind of bothers me that he doesn’t have on pants or a shirt. But whatever.) When you cross your legs and lean to the left, you shouldn’t rotate your body. When done correctly, you feel the stretch in your right hip and side. You can increase the stretch by widening your feet.

A hip stretch for a knee problem? Well, the IT band — or the ilotibial band – is a muscle that runs along the side of your body, from as high up as your hip, all the way down to your knees. So stretching that muscle would stretch the area that I was having trouble with.

He also suggested I stretch my quadriceps (thigh muscles) and my hamstrings (back of thigh) — the idea, I think, is to stretch all of the muscles around the trouble area in hopes that it will fix the problem. I’ll let you know how that goes.

During the session, they also talked about incorporating strength training into our routines at least 3 times a week. Below is a video of some of the strength training moves we are supposed to incorporate into our training.

Fresh out of the session, and with a day off in our training schedule, I decided to put some of the stretches to work.

I grabbed my yoga mat, convinced Pam and Maria to let me weasel in on their session and stretched it out.

When I tried some of the moves I’d done the night before, I found that they were easier to complete. Pam chalked it up to the 30 minutes of yoga we’d just done that had already stretched some of my muscles. I was kind of concerned that I was just doing them wrong. If they hurt Monday, shouldn’t they still hurt Tuesday?

Maria snapped a couple of shots of Pam and I stretching.  This is a calf stretch:

And this is a chest stretch (who knew you could stretch your chest?!):

When I tried some of the stretches I’d done the night before, I found that they were easier to complete. Pam chalked it up to the 30 minutes of yoga we’d just done that had already stretched some of my muscles. I was kind of concerned that I was just doing them wrong. If they hurt Monday, shouldn’t they still hurt Tuesday?

The plan is to continue stretching and strength training on my light run days. I’m going to have to make that a commitment because I’m already beginning to see the runs taking up a lot more time than expected. But at least having Pam and Maria at work to do yoga (a lot of the stretches are yoga based) that should help me stick to it.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Day 15 – *Crick, crack* excuse me, was that my knee? Breaking News Out Of Brooklyn!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Pamela Reinsel Cotter  |  February 19, 2010 at 10:50 am

    What fun! I really like the yoga days better than the running days, lol.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Sponsor My Run!

Click here to Donate!

Talia Training

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Past Workouts


