Day 12 – Milestone!! Three 13 minute miles

February 12, 2010 at 1:02 pm 4 comments

Day: 12
Miles: 3
Time: 39.08 minutes
Feeling: Tired

I’m not going to lie: any excuse I had to not work out last night flew out the window when I came home and the power was out in my building.

Sit at home in the dark? Or go work out? So I gave in.

I grabbed my bag and went back to work. The schedule said I was only to run 2 miles, but I hadn’t run on Wednesday, so I decided to do the Wednesday training and move Thursday’s training (2 miles0 to our optional Friday day off.

One of my coworkers (hey Alisha!) was in the gym training ffor her triathalon, and she hopped on the treadmill next to me. She had jsut done some circuit training and was doing some walking as a cool down.

Here’s the thing you’ve got to know about me: I’m pretty self conscious. So whenever I run next to someone, I try to do my best. I really REALLY don’t want them to hear me wheezing.

So, me and my bad self, I ticked the speed up to 4.8 miles per hour. I normally run at 3.9 to 4.3 mph. While my brain thought I was crazy, my body was like, ‘hey, this actually feels pretty good!’

Before long — well, after about 13 minutes — I’d knocked out a mile. So I stopped, stretched, and got some water. Then went back at it again. This time, I slowed it down a little a couple times, then did the same routine when I reached a mile. By the time I got halfway through mile 3, I realized something:

Running faster is better because you get it over with quicker.

(In case you hadn’t realized, I haven’t reached that “runners high” that people talk about. It’s cool and I like the accomplishment, but it isn’t necessarily fun and enjoyable while I’m in the midst of it.)

After my workout, I downed three cups of water while I walked around the gym as my cooldown. Then I went upstairs to shower , only to find the locker rooms were closed for cleaning. I was not looking forward to having to take a cold shower in the dark when I got home. But I packed up my stuff and headed to mi casa.

As I pulled up, I saw it: my lights were back on.

Lights = electricity = hot water for my shower.

Well deserved reward for my first 13 minute miles. 🙂

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Days 10 & 11 Day 14 – Four miles and lessons learned

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Meghan  |  February 12, 2010 at 1:28 pm

    Talia,

    Way to go on the quick pace~ Hopefully you can make it to the Stretching Clinic this Monday night to give you some pointers and in March we’ll have the nutrition clinic with Nancy Clark. She’s excellent, too.

    Chat with Coach Doyle, but it’s totally normal to be totally hungry. Your body is in a whole new league now and fueling and re-fueling are going to be important to your routine.

    I did a half marathon with TNT in ’07 and (sadly) never achieved a runners high. I was darn proud of each new distance I achieved, a milestone in itself.

    Keep it up!

    Reply
    • 2. taliabuford  |  February 12, 2010 at 1:38 pm

      Thanks, Meghan! I definitely plan on coming to the stretching clinic — if there were any doubts I should come, the way my back is feeling right now is enough to convince me! I’m glad to hear there’s a nutrition clinic as well. I was always a haphazard eater, so I’ll take all the tips, tricks and strategies for fueling my body that I can get.

      I’m starting to think that the whole “runners high” might be an elaborate myth that some marathoners made up around mile 20 when really, they were just deliriously tired. They told us the story of runners high, we all bought it, and it’s been passed along for generations. It’s funny too, because some of the runners I know who have been running for years say they don’t necessarily run because it’s fun; they run because it’s easier to keep running than to restart running if they stop.

      Reply
  • 3. G.D.  |  February 14, 2010 at 9:41 pm

    Running faster is better because you get it over with quicker.

    you ain’t neva lied.

    Reply
    • 4. taliabuford  |  February 14, 2010 at 11:09 pm

      I think until I reach the runner’s high, that’s going to be my new mantra. I’m getting t-shirts made; let me know if you want yours with the slogan airbrushed on the front or back.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Sponsor My Run!

Click here to Donate!

Talia Training

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Past Workouts


