Day 8 & 9 — The yin and the yang

February 8, 2010 at 9:06 pm 2 comments

Day: 8
Miles: about 2.5 miles
Time: about 29 minutes
Feeling: Pretty good.

I overslept and didn’t make it to my group run today, so after church and errands, I forced myself outside to put in some miles. I used the route that I used to run when I was training for my 5k last year. I know the entire way is a little over 3 miles, so I was going to use that as a guide.

On went the underarmor compression shirt, my tech shirt, my warm up jacket, my fleece hat, my ear muffle, and my hood. I grabbed my gloves and  headed out the door.

I got somewhere around a  half mile before I realized how overdressed I was. In running, they call it the 10 degree rule — you dress like it’s 10 degrees warmer than the weather actually is. The thought is that since you’re running and your body will warm up, you want to be a  little cold when you’re standing still so you will be comfortable when your body begins to heat up.

I don’t like being cold.

So I bundled up. And I paid for it. On the way back, I was holding my gloves and the ear muff had migrated from my nose and mouth (I was trying to keep from getting even more sick) to my forehead, which was beginning to sweat. It was uncomfortable. But I did it.

It was cool because I remember when I first started running this route, I could barely make it to the bottom of the hill (about 1/2 a mile) without walking most of the way. I still did some stopping, but it was mostly mental. I could have kept going if I’d wanted to. A fact I know because I kept running almost the entire route, instead of turning around like I would have a year ago. So that’s progress. As I made my way back to my house, I remembered that I didn’t go the entire way (I always stopped a little short, even when training) so I hadn’t actually run the entire 3 miles. I’ll calculate it out later exactly how long that route is and let you guys know.

Also a little blown about the time. I went and bought a stopwatch and everything. But then I forgot to start it when I began my run. So I had to try to estimate the first part of my run. I know for sure that my return trip took 15 minutes. And I was back in my house after 30 minutes. And that includes a walk to the end of the block as my cool down. So I’m estimating I did about 28 or 29 minutes.

Day: 9
Miles: 0
Time: N/A
Feeling: Sheepish.

Getting up early and running is going to be my downfall, I see that now. I couldn’t make it out of bed when my alarm clock went off, so I didn’t get up and do my early run. And after work, I didn’t feel like it. I told myself I’d just switch out my off days again (Tuesday is an off day on our schedule) but I’ve got to have more discipline. I’m going to run tomorrow and the plan is to bang out my runs early for the rest of the week.

Anyone have tips on motivating yourself to get out of bed and do your early runs?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Day 7 – #Fail Days 10 & 11

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Miss Adrienna  |  February 9, 2010 at 12:04 am

    You know I’m not a morning person. Hmmm, let me think about that because I was running in the spring and summer so I needed to wake up early so the sun wouldn’t start beating down on me mid-run and make me pass out.

    Why don’t you put a 2nd alarm in another room. Thatt’ll get you up.

    Other than that, can you run during lunch?

    Reply
    • 2. taliabuford  |  February 9, 2010 at 5:20 pm

      See, I thought of that. And I could. My schedule is flexible enough to do so. But I’m confused how people navigate the whole, after lunch workout funk. Do you take a shower at lunch? Because then I feel like I’m doing a lot. I just took a shower like, 2.5 hours ago. But I refuse to be funky all day! What do people do? Wet wipes? Full blown shower?

      When I work out first thing in the morning, I just bring my clothes and get dressed at the office. Not the most comfortable (we have a locker room, but I have to bring EVERYTHING) but it works. And I get my workout out of the way. I’m just lazy. I guess I could either get up or take a shower midday too. Yeah, because funk is not an option.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Sponsor My Run!

Click here to Donate!

Talia Training

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Past Workouts


