Day 6 — Still running, still hungry

February 5, 2010 at 10:32 pm 1 comment

Day: 6
Miles: 2
Time: 29:30
Feeling: At this moment? Kinda hungry, a little coughy

I just came home with the biggest hunger headache, I believe, of my life.

And it’s my fault. I know that.  It’s because I wanted to go shopping.

I figured my best chance at finishing my run today was to do it BEFORE I went shopping.

So, I have a show I’m in at the end of the month and I need to buy a dress. I’ve looked online, but I figured I really need to just go to the mall and look around.

Problem is, since I didn’t work out this morning, I still had two miles to knock off for today. I needed to workout. I wanted to shop. How to get everything done?

So I decided that I would bang out my miles, then go to the mall and look around until the mall closed.

I started off good. I was running and sweating and feeling good. Then I got a cramp in my calf. I stopped my run and went and stretched and got some water. Then I went back at it.

After about 10 more minutes, my Achilles started to cramp. But not enough to scare me. So I slowed the treadmill down to a slow walk and tried to stretch it out with my stride.

I finally worked back up to a run but I was getting tired. I’m finding that I’m not a fan of treadmills. I don’t like that the machine propels me, and I get tired of staring at the walls. So I may need to get outside more. Anyway, I was running and I was really ready to stop.

I had my iPod on shuffle and I’d already gotten through my stretch break with some Prince (“If I was your girlfriend”) and a little M.J. (“Bad”) but just as I was starting to sag, a recording that my boyfriend made for my birthday three years ago began playing. I listened to the messages from my friends that he’d recorded and I couldn’t help laughing. Honestly, that joy got me through about a quarter of a mile (it was a long recording).

So shout out to the BF for helping me along.

Alright, so I’m plugging — by the way, I want to point out how I think it’s hilarious that I can have all this story about my two little miles that I’m running when some people who read this blog *coughG.D.cough* are putting in miles that I won’t even expect to run until late March/early April.

So, anyway, I’m plugging. And I’m counting down how much more I  have to go. But really, all I want to do is stop. Then I remember a tip that my buddy Kris told me when I was training for my first 5k — use your arms.

I didn’t realize how my arms and legs had so much to do with one another until that moment. See, what he told me is that when I’m tired, or when I’m going up a hill, pump my arms; apparently it helps to propel you somehow — I forget the exact mechanics of it all.

So I pump my arms hard. And you know what, I was running. And I didn’t feel like collapsing. It still wasn’t easy, but it gave me enough momentum to keep going until I made it to 2 miles. Which, at least for today, was the goal.

So up with arm pumping.

Afterward, I rush upstairs, drop my stuff off and head across the street to the mall. I did some browsing and I’ve decided that I was somewhat of a fan of this dress and I also tried on this dress but was at least, initially, underwhelmed by it. Now whether it was the most considerate of ideas for me to try on these dresses, we won’t discuss.

But this isn’t a fashion blog. The point was that by the time I finished browsing (I didn’t buy anything), it was 9 p.m.

So anyway, I went back to the office, grabbed my stuff and headed home.

I just polished off the biggest bowl okay, really like two servings of spaghetti with mushrooms, ground chicken, and chicken sausage with sun-dried tomatoes. And some garlic toast.  Yum.

But yeah, my tummy still feels like there may be a hole in it. Is it bad that I’m already thinking about what I’m going to make for breakfast in the morning? Sigh.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

A Heads Up on Day 6 Day 7 – #Fail

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. jameil  |  February 5, 2010 at 10:54 pm

    i often think of my next meal before i’ve finished the current one… but you probably shouldn’t go by me. lol. i see you get by w/a little help from your friends. lolol. i have never liked treadmills. they make me feel like a rat in a cage!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Sponsor My Run!

Click here to Donate!

Talia Training

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Past Workouts


