Day 5 — See, what had happened was…

February 4, 2010 at 8:43 pm Leave a comment

Day: 5
Miles: 0
Time: N/A
Feeling: A little coughy

So, let me explain.

On my schedule, it says that today, I should run 2 miles at an easy pace. But when I woke up this morning, my body wasn’t having it.

I rolled over at 6:30 a.m. and promptly set my alarm for 8:45 a.m. The Theraflu I took last night was still putting a hurting on me and the worst part — I felt like my throat was more sore than ever. When I woke up later, I immediately made a 1 p.m. appointment to see my doctor because if there were drugs I could take to get rid of this, I wanted them as soon as possible.

Fast forward to my appointment. We chat about the news and I mention to him that I’ve felt sick ever since I began training for my half-marathon.

“I don’t want to hear your complaining,” he says. “Suck it up!”

(Abrasive to you, but this is part of the reason I love my doctor. He’s hilarious. )

I explain to him that my thought is that my throat decided to seize up as a silent protest of the below freezing temperatures that I subjected my lungs to. We talked more.  He tested me for strep throat. He told me about a 15k (9.3 miles) that he ran when he practiced on Block Island that sounds really beautiful.  He said the major hill you do once, but the entire route is a series of hills and valleys. I told him I’d think about it in 2011 and that since he was such a runner, he should sponsor my run. He took the letter and promised to contribute (I hit up the receptionist, too). My test came back negative.

He told me to take two Tylenol and call him next week if I take a horrible turn for the worse.

Otherwise, I should just suck it up.

So, okay, I know what you’re thinking: “Talia, go ahead and power through — run your two miles tonight and be great!”

First, thanks for the encouragement. Second, I have plans. I’m beginning to see that this whole exercise-first-thing-in-the-morning thing is going to have to be the way I live my life from now on.

On the schedule Friday is an off day (probably smart because we’re running Saturday and Sunday).

But tomorrow at 7 a.m., you can find me in the gym. No excuses.

Promise.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

No, I don’t always look this good… A Heads Up on Day 6

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Sponsor My Run!

Click here to Donate!

Talia Training

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Past Workouts


