Day 4 — Listen to your body

February 3, 2010 at 9:07 am 2 comments

Day: 4
Miles: 2.16 total (1.26 on treadmill, .90 on elliptical)
Time: 29:27
Feeling: Sleepy

Let’s get one thing straight: I am not a morning person.

At all.

I personally don’t believe in any hour that starts before 9 a.m. But today, I got up at 6:38 a.m. (after hitting the snooze button once), grabbed my work clothes, laced up my running shoes and headed to my job.

It was time to work out.

See, I’ve got a story due in (checks watch) 3 hours and I have a fundraising meeting with Team in Training after work tonight. So I needed to get my miles in early.

It was actually pretty cool. I came in, not many people were in the newsroom. The gym was completely empty.  I starting out with some light stretching and then began my run. I tried to keep it slow — I ran at a 15 minute mile pace (4.0 on the treadmill) and kept my energy up with Beyonce bumping in my earbuds.

Then, I did 10 minutes on the elliptical on cross train. My legs started to ache a little, but they always do when I do the elliptical so I thought nothing of it.

I grabbed some water and hopped back over to the treadmill, intending to complete the rest of my 2 miles. I started jogging slowly. My legs began aching again.

I thought about what my coach said about cutting down on my mileage and taking it easy. I wanted to finish my entire 2 miles, but I worried that I might hurt myself if I kept going. So I stopped after two minutes.

I stretched again and called it quits. I also popped two Excedrin when I got back to my desk.

It was hard to walk away. I really wanted to finish my miles because I feel like I should be able to. But at the same time, my body knows what it can and can’t do. And today, it was telling me not to push it. I guess technically I still did my required mileage, just not all in running. Hopefully, my body adjusts to this new training pattern quickly and I’ll be good for the long run on Sunday.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Day 3 — Rest Letter to my stomach

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. G.D.  |  February 3, 2010 at 4:22 pm

    absolutely. when you’re used to hitting certain goals when you run, it’s hard to accept that some days your body just ain’t having it.

    i do a 10-mile run every Thursday, and there are times when i just can’t get my breathing right, or my shins start to act up. i want to push through it, but sometimes you gotta just ease your foot off the pedal.

    Reply
    • 2. taliabuford  |  February 3, 2010 at 4:49 pm

      Thanks for that. I can tell my body appreciates that I decided to take it easy today. My legs aren’t AS stiff. And I can walk to the printer without pain. I even took some stairs earlier with minimal difficulty. So it was a good decision.

      But it always helps to be reminded that it happens to everyone once in a while. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Sponsor My Run!

Click here to Donate!

Talia Training

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Tweeting TrainingTalia

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Past Workouts


