Hello, Legs

February 1, 2010 at 3:59 pm 2 comments

This morning, I tried to tip toe down the stairs, hoping my quadriceps wouldn’t notice.  The tightness shot up the front of my thighs as I scrunched my face in pain.

This is why I hate exercising.

I feel like all morning,  my legs and back have been letting me know how much I’m out of shape. Not to be outdone, my chest tightens during deep breaths, and I’ve got a scratchy throat — probably from breathing in all that 17 degree air yesterday. I hope I’m not coming down with a cold.

I read somewhere that running actually weakens your immune system temporarily if you eat enough nutrients to replenish the amount you spend during training.  And it’s no secret I’m notorious for not eating enough.

I tried to start things off right, though. Even got up early enough to eat a bowl of Honey Nut Cheerios with a sprinkling of sliced almonds and a glass of OJ. I’ve got pasta for lunch, along with some fruit to snack on throughout the day. Hopefully that will give me enough energy to get through this evening’s workout.

I’m also considering doing yoga on light run days or in the evenings to help with the tightness in my leg. Does anyone have any other suggestions for warding off pain? I’m open!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Day 1 – Reality Check Day 2 — No Excuses

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rekha  |  February 1, 2010 at 5:17 pm

    So proud of you Talia! Stretching is essential before and after your run to ward off the pain. Yoga on light workout days is a perfect balance!

    Reply
    • 2. taliabuford  |  February 3, 2010 at 4:50 pm

      My stretching really helped with my run today. I didn’t get around to the yoga, but I think it’s something I’ll at least throw in once or twice a week. I found that if it wasn’t my thighs, my hips were tight. I know yoga will loosen those right up.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Sponsor My Run!

Click here to Donate!

Talia Training

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Tweeting TrainingTalia

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Past Workouts


